Abia Rally: Okorocha advises Nd’Igbo against regional politics | IMO STATE GOVERNMENT

Governor Rochas Okorocha of Imo State has advised Nd’Igbo to avoid playing primitive, regional and clanish politics.
The Governor also said that all but only two current Governors in Nigeria are already in the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC).
Okorocha was speaking on Tuesday at the Umuahia Township Stadium during a mega rally organized to welcome defectors from other parties to the All Progressives Congress (APC).
According to the Governor, Ndigbo played “bad politics” in 2015. He said that God had provided a second chance for the tribe to correct their political mistake of the past by ensuring President Muhammadu Buhari is returned to power in 2019, as according to him, that is the only way the Presidency could come to South East in 2023.
Urging Ndigbo to avoid playing primitive, regional and clanish politics as such would do them no good, the Governor also advised them to emulate the South West which had long keyed into the national politics.
On support for President Buhari by Nigerian Governors, Okorocha disclosed that all but only two current Governors are already in the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) even though some of them are yet to declare publicly.
Okorocha expressed conviction that APC would win landslide even in opposition strongholds in 2019 as so many of the Governors had secretly started working for APC waiting for the opportune time to make formal declaration. He enjoined Abia APC members to stop casting aspersions on Gov. Okezie Ikpeazu as he might as well be on his way to APC.
In his speech, former Abia Governor, Orji Kalu promised to put everything he has to bring Abia to APC.
He noted that the state needed “to be liberated from bondage”, adding that the party would deploy “federal might” to resist thuggery and any attempt to rig APC out during the 2019 polls.
Highlight of the rally was the defection of four members of the Abia State House of Assembly to APC.
The decampees include, former Speaker Martins Azubuike (PDP); Solomon Okogbuo representing Bende South (PDP); Theophilus Ugbaja representing Ikwuano (APGA); and Ikedi Ezekwesiri (APGA) Umunneochi state constituency.
Others are Chief Uche Ogah; DIG (retd) Azubuike Udah; Charles Nzechi; the immediate past General Manager of Abia State Environmental Management Agency (ASEPA) Iyke Apugo; and Maj. Gen. Ogbonna Okoro (retd.).

There are no comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked (*).

dataportal       indiaportal       webinfo       dataportal       dataportal       dataportal
* Recommended Browsers * 1. Microsoft Internet Explorer 7.0 or higher for Windows (get latest Internet Explorer browser) ******2. Mozilla Firefox 3.0 or higher for Mac, Windows, and Linux (get latest Firefox browser)
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish