NPower 2017: Pre-selected candidates begin verification in Imo

Candidates who applied for the 2017 N-Power programme and were pre-selected, have commenced physical verification in Imo State.
Physical verification is a critical component in onboarding selected beneficiaries who have been notified of their selection status into the N-Power programme. The essence is to ascertain candidates’ age, gender, current residential address and Local Government Area, academic qualification, NYSC discharge status, employment status and disability status.
The exercise was monitored in the state by a team led by the Deputy Director of National Orientation Agency, Mr Nazi Njoku. Other members of the team are Felix Obioha – NPower official from Abuja and the representative of the State Focal Person, Stanley Okehie.
In Owerri Municipal Council secretariat where the exercise is taking place for pre-selected applicants resident in the state, candidates were falling over themselves in an attempt to be verified first. It took the concerted efforts of officers of Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC) and N-Power officials monitoring the exercise to maintain orderliness.
The Community Mobilization Officer (COMO), Mrs Nkechi Ogazi while briefing the monitoring team members, expressed happiness over the large turnout of candidates and regretted her inability to control the surging crowd.
Verification officers comprising of four beneficiaries of the programme in 2016, were dutifully scrutinizing the documents of each pre-selected candidate, which they said, is the first step in the verification exercise.
In Owerri North Local Government Council, the story is not different as candidates gathered in a very rowdy session waiting for turns.
A pre-selected candidate in the area, simply identified as Victor, said he was hopeful of receiving his December stipend once he scaled through the physical verification stage.
Recall that a total of 60,283 candidates applied from Imo state out of which 9,497 were pre-selected.

Okorocha swears in 27 TC Chairmen, 28 Commissioners

Imo state governor, Owelle Rochas Okorocha has sworn-in 28 Commissioners, 27 Transition Committee Chairmen and others.
At the ceremony, Okorocha told the Transition Committee chairmen that they have only “maximum of six months to stay in office, after which an election will be conducted to give way for elected chairmen.”

He also said that by January the Imo State Council of Traditional Rulers will have their election to elect a new executive. He added that some of the ministries have been moved out of Owerri to villages, such as Ministry of Agriculture to Ngor Okpala local government area, while the Ministry of Tourism to be taken to Oguta local government area.

According to the governor, “You are the privileged group that has the opportunity to make names for yourselves, and put your signatures in the sands of time. I want to remind all of you that this appointment is not business as usual. “We shall not tolerate any sharp practice or corruption of any type. Neither shall we accept indolence or laziness. You have been called to duty to help us achieve our vision in the Rescue Mission Project.”
Okorocha also announced the new ministry created by his government, with Hon Mrs. Ogechi Ololo, to head Ministry of Happiness and Purpose Fulfillment.

The commissioners sworn in and their portfolios are: Prof. Nnamdi Obiaraeri (Information); Lady Ugochi Nnana-Okoro (Agric and Food Security); Gertrude Oduka (Primary and Secondary Education); Dr. Jones Uzoka (Niger Delta Affairs); Uchendu Mark (Public Utilities); and Gerald Okolie (Rural Development).

Others are Dr. Cyril Okafor (Tourism); Emmanuel Ojinere (Trade and Investment); Chief Lasbery Anyanwu (Transport); Onwueyiagwu Valentine (Youth Development); Mrs. Ngozi Njoku (Gender and Social Development); Chief Josephine Udoji (Works); Achilike Nwawuike (Internal Resources and Pension Matters); Prof. Emenalo Chizoba (Tertiary Education); Nwamerenini Chukwuka (Labour); and Dr. Iyke Njoku (Planning, Budget and Statistics).

The Transition Committee Chairmen sworn in include Okechukwu Onyechere(Ideato South); Sir Anyehe Okeneme (Ikeduru); Julius Onyeneho (Isiala Mbano); Akas Paschal, (Isu); Steve Odoemena (Mbaitoli); Eke Chidi (Ngor Okpala); Aloysius Onwuegbuchulam (Njaba); and Paschal Onwukaike (Nkwerre).

dataportal       indiaportal       webinfo       dataportal       dataportal       dataportal
* Recommended Browsers * 1. Microsoft Internet Explorer 7.0 or higher for Windows (get latest Internet Explorer browser) ******2. Mozilla Firefox 3.0 or higher for Mac, Windows, and Linux (get latest Firefox browser)
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish